BWU News Ticker:
The Executive Council of the Barbados Workers’ Union…
   |    (30.10.18)
Click below to listen to the General Secretary's statement on… Read more...
   |    (15.10.18)
The Executive Council of the Barbados Workers’…
   |   See the latest news from Don't forget to follow us on Facebook & Twitter as well.
An Interview with the General Secretary
Tuesday, 04 September 2018 11:28

Click below to listen to the General Secretary's interview with the media on Saturday 1 September 2018.


2018 BWU Netball Tournament
Monday, 03 September 2018 12:40

The Minister of Sports, the Honourable John King will declare open the Barbados Workers’ Union’s 39th Netball Tournament at the Netball Stadium, Waterford, St. Michael, on Sunday, September 9, starting at 4:00 p.m. Addresses will be delivered by the General Secretary of the B.W.U., Senator Toni Moore and the President of the Barbados Netball Association, Nisha Craigwell.

Thirty-one teams will be participating in the tournament which is divided into four Zones – The Sir Roy Zone, the Linda Brooks Zone, the Ulric Sealy Zone and the Gabby Scott Zone.

The Sir Roy Trotman Zone comprises the following teams: B.W.U. Diamonds, Goodride Yorkshire Ballers, Police Boys’ and Girls’ Club, Chickmont Ballers, Bryden’s Stokes, Wolverines and BRC Ballers.

The Linda Brooks Zone is composed of the B.W.U. Diamonds, Blue Blazers, Wolverines, Chickmont Ballers, Rapid Response, Sunny Villa Rentals, St. James Stilettos, Warriors Sports Club and NIS Ballers.
The Ulric Sealy Zone is made up of the St. James Stilettos, UWI SSA, Police Boys’ and Girls’ Club, Warriors Sports Club, Jetstars Grazettes Ballers, Eastern All Stars and PSB Sports Social Club.

The Gabby Scott Zone consists of the Aleen Blazers, St. George Lions, Blue Blazers, Supreme Ballers, Grazettes Ballers, RT Ballers and the Vixens.

Domestic Workers' Champion Award
Friday, 31 August 2018 09:04

A highlight of the second and final day of the Barbados Workers’ Union’s 77th Annual Delegates’ Conference, which is being held at “Solidarity House” on Saturday, 1st September, 2018, will be the announcement of the winner of the First Annual Domestic Workers’ Champion Award. The competition has been designed to engage the public of Barbados to show appreciation to this category of workers and was run between August 7 and 21, 2018. The announcement of the winners will be made at 10:00 a.m.

Members of the public were requested to nominate, by letter to the B.W.U., any domestic worker which they considered to be deserving of the award. The nominations were judged by a mixed panel of persons drawn from the B.W.U. and the general public.

Shakeda Williams, the Co-ordinator of the competition said the Executive Council of the B.W.U. was very pleased with the expressions regarding the character and mettle of the nominees, and particularly why the workers deserved recognition for the work which the domestic workers performed on a daily basis.

The Barbados Workers’ Union salutes all domestic workers and intends to continue to ensure that the rights of these workers are enforced and protected. Domestic workers were among the early recruits in the B.W.U.

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 4 of 19